Good Luck, Susan!

Standard

My friend Susan just began her 2 WW with DE. They transferred two excellent blasts and she has her beta July 1. As a veteran of IVF, Susan has never caved to POAS (pee on a stick). I can never make such a claim (sadly).

Speaking of POAS, Andrea of Bella and her Fella (see blogroll right), POAS (I think her transfer was last week) and got a faint + this morning. Good for her!

I am terrified that DE won’t work. There is one woman on my DE support board that has had 2 BFN DE cycles (no explanation as to why). The rational part of me realizes I have 6 cycles and if I don’t get pg, I will be doing adoption. But I so long to be pregnant and truly I am afraid. I just saying to myself, I have 6 cycles.” over and over again. This has led to much worry about what could possibly go wrong with my DE cycle.

I did find out something else. When I was at my last RE, I asked them to test me for Factor V Leiden ,a clotting disorder common to people from the Southern part of Sweden (where my great grandfather comes from). Some common indicators that you might have Factor V Leiden are cold hands and feet, cold nose (even in heat), sensitivity to cold temperatures, headaches etc…I have those symptoms (always have). At my last RE after this testing, the nurse just said, “you have a mild clotting disorder, just take baby aspirin every day.”

Now I am a good patient and when you tell me to take something, I will. I’ve been taking baby aspirin for the last year and it has made a difference. I no longer get migraines which is awesome. (I’ve been on anti-migraine meds for years on and off trying imitrex, zomig, fiorinal, maxalt amoung others). But the nurse never told me what my clotting disorder was and I like to know things like that.

My mother was diagnosed with Waldenstrom’s syndrome 2 years ago  and had to go through a watered down version of chemo (she didn’t lose her hair). Waldenstrom’s is also associated with thickening of the blood (an additional clotting issue) and isn’t diagnosed until people are in their 60s. As the name suggests, it is associated with Scandinavian immigrants and their descendants.

I am taking no chances and had the military run genetic testing on my for Factor V and a mutation known as MTHFR (among other things). I got the results back and sure enough, I’m heterozygous for Factor V (which means I carry one gene for this). This better than being homozygous (carrying two genes) but still puts me at increased risk for increased miscarriage, stroke and embolisms. I will probably have to wear those support hose during my pregnancy and on airplane flights (even after pregnancy for the flights so I don’t develop deep vein thrombosis (DVT)).

The primary treatment for Factor V is baby aspirin and in some cases, heparin, warfarin or lovenox shots during pregnancy. I’m waiting on my nurse to get back to me on what I will need. I also don’t know when you begin this treatment. Is it immediately after transfer? After a positive beta? I’m not really sure.

Here are the problematic factors I’ve ruled out for my DE cycle:

  1. uterine abnormalities to include polyps/fibroids and shape (no bicornate uterus for me).
  2. no lining problems (because I’ve got great lining)
  3. No MTHFR or cytomeglovirus
  4. No physical abnormalities

Now if I could just stop worrying…we still have to see how my eggs fertilize and grow.

 

Leave a Reply

