Ethics in 3rd Party Reproductions

Standard

Interesting article in this week’s NYT about disclosure with children about third party reproduction. To tell or not? I plan to tell as early as the child can comprehend it. I don’t keep secrets like that, and in my work with childern, I’ve learned that the earlier something becomes part of a child’s story, it is easier to understand. Read the article and see what you think. I’d love to hear/see your comments and opinions.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/07/12/us/12surrogate.html

In other news, we start antibiotics and I start lupron tomorrow. A quick update on Susan of the mega beta-it is just one baby as confirmed by her ultrasound. I apologize for the lack of posts, I am TDY at Ft. Hot as Hell. I’ll be here for the next two weeks, have my baseline u/s and bloodwork and then back to Ft. Living Room.

One response »

  1. That is a very good article. I do believe in starting early… hopefully we will be able to become parents on our own… but honestly, ours wouldn’t be a traditional birds and bees story anyways! Good luck with your IVF!

    ICLW

Leave a Reply

