What’s the Story, Morning Glory?

Standard

We chose a donor. We went with the fresh egg donor because the probability of success is greater. Also, I like the fact that she is my size and NOT my weight. I figure if I have to use donor eggs then I should at least get to pick and chose what traits I want in my child and struggling with his/her weight is not one of them. I figure I’ll cycle in late November/early December. I have to wait on the other 2 donors and of course, for AF.

Of course, there is no telling that a fertile donor will guarantee a pregnancy or keep the evil angel of BFNs away from my door. (Should I mark my door post with lamb’s blood to keep the angel away)? If only it were so easy.

Speaking of truly rotten, bad luck, VIRTUAL  HUGS to EB and to Dr. Hill’s Mrs (IVF 40+ and Our Journey through Embryo Adoption respectively) this week and for the next coming weeks. My heart breaks for you guys.

The New York Times has been running a series this week on what I would like to call fertility failures. The gist of the articles, is that the transfer of more than one embryo (and consequential successful implantation), can lead to real health risks for mothers and their babies. As a former NICU social worker (many years ago) I have always been aware of the risks of multiples and one of the main issues I have with the Jon & Kate series is that I believe it leads to the false impression that all high ordered multiples meet their developmental milestones appropriately.  This series of articles dispels that myth in a big way.

Here is the first on the price of prematurity. http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/11/health/11fertility.html

And the second, about choosing to give birth to high level multiples.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/10/12/health/12fertility.html?em

Interesting reading, really makes you wonder. And of course as always with the NYT, I am as absorbed by the comments as much as the articles.

 

jonkate

2 responses »

  1. thanks for the shout out. i read the articles which were interesting then I went to the comments. WOW. so much bile out there. fascinating.
    Good luck with your donor cycle.

Leave a Reply

