Introducing…Babies A & B

Standard

 We had a bit of a scare yesterday when I started bleeding last night (brown and red blood). I called SG who was completely nonplussed and was told to lie down and put my feet up. I decided, if possible, I would get my u/s today instead of tomorrow so I would stop worrying.

As you can tell by the title, today’s u/s showed 2 babies.

Ameasuring 6 weeks, 1 day (probably the 8 cell embryo) and B; measuring 5 weeks, 6 days (the 4 cell). Both babies had heart beats (thankfully). I think A’s was 90 bpm and B’s was 75 bpm (they had a hard time getting them because I was literally shaking in the stirrups). We have another u/s next week and (hopefully) no more bleeding! I don’t know if both babies will survive but I’m excited to give them a fighting chance!

MO2 did turn to me and say, “aren’t you glad we didn’t transfer 3?”

The moral of the story is, don’t judge an embryo by its appearance. Ours were an 8 and an almost 5 celler. It is hard not to have embryo-inferiority issues when you hear about 5 day blasts and mega betas.

I have another u/s next week. I’m hoping the bleeding will subside (it is just reddish spotting now). My RE here told me that 50% of women spot/bleed through their pregnancies and apparently it is more common with multiples. I am so thrilled and nervous (with MUCH emphasis on the nervous). Oh and for the record, the military did give me 4 days of quarters but what would I do at home? i think I’ll work half days until the end of the week.

4 responses »

  1. I’m excited for you! I hope that soon you get more and more good news and you can feel less nervous! Your little embies are real rock stars!

  2. Congrats! We transferred a 10 celled grade B and a 5 celled grade C and ended up with adorable twins. 🙂 So you’re right, you never know if the embryo the doctors wrote off as not a good chance will actually create a healthy human being. Yay!!!

  3. Oh Man! I can’t believe I missed this post! Congrats!!! 2x!!! That’s wonderful! I hope you have a happy and healthy pregnancy. I can’t wait for all the updates!

Leave a Reply

