Gestational Diabetes

Standard

31 weeks!

Yesterday I went to my first gestational diabetes (GD) class. I learned a great deal, especially the fact that we’ve been checking my blood sugar @ the wrong time. Apparently the biggest issue in GD is carbs, not sugars like I thought. I get 30 g of carbs in the am, 45 at lunch and 45 at dinner. In a way it is very similar to the South Beach diet only without the total restriction of carbs if that makes any sense. So far, I’ve been hitting my limits. The only hitch is that my fasting blood sugar tends to be higher than they want to see. I’m within normal limits for the rest of the day. I guess I will find out if I need to be on medication next week after my consultation.

I do have a lot of diabetic symptoms :(. I would say that the most annoying ones are the itchy skin (worse first thing in the morning and at bed time), frequent thirst and subsequently, frequent urination. Last night, I got up to pee 4 xs! Maybe it is nature’s way of prepping me for 3 hour feedings…LOL. I have found a nap to be helpful. Sadly yesterday, I went into the office at 1200 in preparation for my 1300 class and ended up staying until COB. The class was over 2 hours and then I went up to work on some major projects. So no nap for me!

In baby news, the boys continue to move around a lot, mostly in the morning and evening. They are always busy @ bedtime. Sometimes it is so strange to feel a recognizable body part poke through your belly. I can clearly feel Roll’s bottom and Rock’s legs. Sometimes they move so often, I have to pat them and speak to them to get them to calm down! We’ve started working on their nursery although we aren’t planning on setting up their crib until they are a couple of months old. Until then, they will sleep in their co-sleeper. It looks like we might be moving early than anticipated but we’re ok with that. We need a bigger house!

Leave a Reply

