Sleep…What’s That?

Standard

Wow it has been a long time since I posted. I just wrote this post and it disapeared…damn.

Anyway, the boys have been home for 3 weeks now and we are coping. We have had to adjust to a decided lack of sleep and several organizational challenges ( how to get things done with two little people in the house who need to eat every 3 hours). We haven’t had any help although my Mom is coming for a visit next week. Part of me is afraid of the help, I don’t want to become dependent on it so I will miss it when it leaves…does that make sense?

We are formula and breast feeding, well actually pumping. The pumping is a bitter sweet issue. I both love the idea that I can produce some milk for my babies but I hate the time commitment it requires. I have a pump with a car adapter and I pump in the car I have no shame) and in the house. The Lactation Consultant at the hospital wanted me to pump every hour (are you freakin’ kidding me)?  MO2 called her the boob nazi. I try to pump every 3 hours and drink copious amounts of Mother’s Milk tea and take domperidone which I get from Canada by way of Fiji. I wish my guys would nurse but I don’t have the hours of time it would take. It makes me sad but I figure some Bm is better than none.

Our guys are doing swimmingly. They are both little butter balls, gaining weight like there is no tomorrow. They did beautifully at their nutritional follow up and developmental appointment. so far, there are very little, if any delays. We have learned that we can take them places with a lot of organization and relative ease. So far, we’ve been to two restaurants, the grocery store, Walmart, the hospital and a consignment sale. We broke down and got a double snap and go from Craigslist and it makes a ton of difference. You just snap the car seats in and go! We also use the baby carriers we got from Etsy (check out loveyduds). We use the carriers when we need to use our hands or when there are crowded conditions. I highly recommend them and our guys love them. We are lucky to have relatively easy babies.

MO2 goes back to work next week and I’m off until the beginning of October. Every day I spend with the guys adds to my confidence which is terrific. I just look forward to sleeping through the night!

Leave a Reply

