A Crafting We Will Go

Standard

This post (albeit decidely happier) is dedicated to the things that I love most in life beside my immediate family.

I am a happy craftster!!!

Granted, I don’t spend as much time as I would like crafting because I have infant twins, a husband and a full time job. But you can usually count on me to have one or two projects in the wings.

My current loves are building furniture (simple things), knitting, sewing and online scrapbooking.

My WIPs are: the Easy Console Table, from Ana White. Do you know Ana? Well you should. She takes classic plans like from Pottery Barn and translates them into free plans. her website is amazing!

Here is what I’m doing

                                   The original plan looks like this

However, I thought it might be more functional with more shelves, so I’m doing the modifications similiar to this photo (my work is not yet ready for photos)



Let me tell you something, building furniture when you have no experience is not easy. I’ve been working on this sporadically for 3 weeks and have recut the legs about 3 times! However, I’ve learned tons. It is starting to look very nice.

My other project is a knitted sweater for either R or R (who ever it will fit). It is the Sleeveless Baby Sweater from Ravelry http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/seamless-baby-sweater

This is not my sweater but the finished image I like best. In fact, I liked it so much, I bought this yarn to make another version of it in a bigger size. It is an easy sweater to knit once you figure the pattern out.

I’m shaping the neck now and hopefully Rock and Roll will wear it sometime this decade. Otherwise, it will be a baby gift for someone.

What do you do in your spare time?

Leave a Reply

