Embryo Donation (not as easy as people think)

Standard

So they’ve caught on to me…. Word Press is no longer loading on my work computer. Damn! Well, I will just tap this out on my phone….sigh.

I am in the waiting mode. My OB intake is next Monday and I am not even sure if they will do an u/s. My clinic wants one done at 7 weeks. I think here they don’t want one done until 11 weeks, so we shall see. Most days I don’t really feel pregnant. My boobs hurt and sometimes when I get up quickly I get twinges on my ligaments but that’s about it. I guess I should feel lucky I don’t have m/s but it would make me feel better if I did!

What this post is really about is how we ended up using donor embryos to begin with. There are a lot of people in the embie donation community that would want you to believe there are thousands of embryos available for donation in the US. Truth is, not really. There are thousands of people who do have embryos frozen but they aren’t typically giving them up. If they are, there may be a reason, primarily that they don’t want to pay fees for storage or that they are a 1) large number of embryos (12+) or a very small number ( 1 embryo) that people won’t want to risk paying the transfer fees for 4k+….

There are several routes of embryo donation. Here are the main ones…
1. Donated to a clinic or program
2. Private donation ( like giving a friend your unused embryos)
3. Private donation through a third party like a web group like Miracles Waiting
4. Creating embryos to be used in a donor program ( using donor sperm/egg ).
I think that is about it. In subsequent posts, I’ll talk about the pros and cons of each.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

